PADI Wreck Diver

PADI Wreck Diver

Whether purpose-sunk as an artificial reef for scuba divers, or lost as the result of an accident, wrecks are fascinating windows to the past. Ships, airplanes and even cars are fascinating to explore and usually teem with aquatic life. Each wreck dive offers a chance for discovery, potentially unlocking a mystery or spying something others have missed. The PADI Wreck Diver Specialty course is popular because it offers rewarding adventures while observing responsible wreck diving practices, and you get to dive one of the top 5 wrecks in the world - Zenobia.

How do I begin?

You start with the training materials. Get a PADI Wreck Diver Manual from us at Dive-In Larnaca. Read the manual and watch the video before meeting with your PADI Instructor to discuss the wrecks you'll visit during your open water scuba dives.

What's in the course?

There are many different types of wrecks, some of which are protected by laws that guard their historical and cultural significance. Your training starts by reviewing guidelines for researching and respecting wrecks. During four dives you'll learn:

  • Safety considerations for navigating and exploring wrecks.
  • Surveying and mapping a wreck.
  • Using penetration lines and reels to guide exploration.
  • Techniques to avoid kicking up silt or disturbing the wreck and its inhabitants.

Also, the first dive of this PADI Specialty Diver course may credit as an Adventure Dive toward your Advanced Open Water Diver certification – ask your instructor about earning credit.

How long does it take?

The PADI Wreck Diver speciality takes place over 2 days.

What qualifications do I need?

The PADI Adventure Diver certification or higher is the prerequisite for the PADI Wreck Diver course.

The minimum age of enrolment on this programme is 15yrs.

You will need to fill out a self certification medical statement. If you have any medical conditions you think may prevent you from scuba diving please feel free to contact us and we will try to be of assistance.

What's next?

To enhance your PADI Wreck Diver course why not think about PADI Peak Performance Buoyancy or PADI Enriched Air courses to get the most out of your dives on Zenobia.

Once you have completed five PADI specialties and your PADI Rescue Diver and have 50 logged dives you hold all the prerequisites for the PADI Master Scuba Diver certification. This is the highest non-professional rating in the PADI system of diver education.


PADI Wreck Diver course is a 4 dives and costs €265.00 plus materials and certification.